Community Museum, Ingersoll, Ontario


image

On my way to a conference in Ontario I was lured off the highway by a sign advertising a cheese factory museum. Cheese! My favorite thing! I was hoping for a tour and fresh curds, but it really was just a museum. A small, understaffed little community museum with a main building and a few outposts, one for the blacksmith and one for the cheesemaker. No docents, just paper signs taped up above bits of machinery to explain what they were.

image

Cheese factory museum. I guess I latched onto the first two words and got my hopes up.

image

These old signs caught the glare of the open window.

image

I think this is for cutting blocks of cheese, but frankly, I was still in a state of disappointment over the lack of actual cheese that I forgot to read the sad little signs.

image

There were more of these in a big vat on the floor, and I think they were for stirring what would later become cheese, except not here because there was no cheese. Did I mention there was no cheese?

image

Jugs in which to transport milk to be made into cheese.

image

Oh, I should have read what these were. I believe they are for printing cheese labels. There was no cheese.

image

This long board is for stamping cheese. I could have stamped, but there was still no cheese.

image

Large (empty) cheese boxes. So sad. And an ice block grabber that could double as a cheese grabber, were there cheese to grab.

image

And this is the blacksmith’s shop across the drive. No cheese here either. Shame.

6 responses to “Community Museum, Ingersoll, Ontario

  1. What a fascinating post…. I just picked up some cheese (Camembert) at the Farmer’s Market last week… I waiting for it to ripen….and so have been thinking about what went into the making of the cheese. Your post answers a lot of questions…

    Perhaps you might stop in at a Farmer’s Market on your way home….

Leave a Reply

