Around Milwaukee Today


image

I upload right from my phone, but it’s too much work to type proper descriptions from there, so I sometimes remember to come back to my regular computer and annotate the images. Today, I remembered! This is a view of the Milwaukee River taken from inside Water Buffalo restaurant on Water and Buffalo. The shiny part of the water in the middle was frozen enough for ducks and gulls to stand on it and also to give a bit of reflection.

image

I don’t know if this was meant to be a mouse, but it looks very much like a big hairy rat crawling distractedly toward a giant strawberry on the lower level of the Grand Avenue Mall. The thing is huge, probably at least a couple dozen feet long. It is wearing a Santa hat and appears to have a green cigarette butt dangling from its mouth. Nice. Happy holidays.

image

Farm Girl Art & Antiques is on South 5th Street. This is their sign reflected in the roof of a parked car.

image

This is also South 5th, facing north towards La Perla Mexican restaurant. The large Bacardi ad in the distance caught my eye. I think that was the side of a truck of some sort, but I don’t even know!

image

This Little Free Library is outside the Walker’s Point Center for the Arts on South 5th Street. There are several in our city, which I think is awesome, but this one is a really pretty one.

image

I have taken this photo before, but am compelled to do it each time I walk under this sign just north of the Walker’s Point Center for the Arts.

image

Follicle, along this same block, is a hair salon with a very shiny, reflective window. There’s my Dad!

image

The Esperanza Unida mural really stands out, especially on such a grey day among grey buildings.

image

Well, this is one of those sawhorse type things that gets put in traffic or on sidewalks to warn people of some sort of danger or restriction and the light on top flashes when it gets dark out. There must be a word or much shorter phrase for these things, but it escapes me. Made a nice reflection against a sheet of metal.

image

This antique sign was for sale in Farm Girl. Do they even still make Di-Gel? Not sure.
image

Took this out the car window on our way home on 27th and State. It had started to snow and the wet road provided some nice reflections.

2 responses to “Around Milwaukee Today

Leave a Reply

