A Day of Resale Shopping in Milwaukee


image
This was the first fun find of the day at Dress for Less on 77th and Burleigh. I did not purchase it.

image
Shopping is tiring, so we stopped into Rupena’s on Oklahoma and Beloit next to one of our resale targets. Hot ham and cheese on choice of fresh bread for … $2.75! Can’t beat that. I had the broccoli, cauliflower and bacon salad on the side for $1.38. Yummy.

image
Pole dancing, burlesque and chair dancing lessons can be had next door to the Salvation Army resale on 77th and Greenfield. Good to know.

image
These bundled skids of clothing were near the back of the Council of the Blind resale on 67th and Greenfield as were the two shots of the yellow-bottom clothing racks below.

image

image

image
This and the next colorful shot of clothing racks are from Value Village on 27th near the Domes. Goodwill organizes their clothing by size and color. Value Village simply goes by color with sizes mixed together.

image

image
We started the day finding poop and and found Pooh near the end of our adventure. I still didn’t purchase.

image
The fading light as we left St. Vincent de Paul on 23rd and Lincoln lent a nice backdrop to part of their store sign. It was a fun, but also tiring day. Resale shopping can be a great way to find bargains, if you enjoy the hunt. It can help to have a friend to go with – not solely for the company, but to help you make decisions about purchases. Does this blouse make me look like a grandma? Do these pants make my butt look big? Should I buy these plates to use in the kitchen, or to smash into bits for my next mosaic? I admit to liking a lot of gaudy and truly ugly clothing that does nothing for me or my shape. Having someone there to save you from terrible choices can be a very good thing. On the other hand, some great purchases can be had when someone lets you know how awesome something looks when you’re not sure.

My favorite purchase of the day was a sump pump cover for $5.00 at the Habitat for Humanity ReStore on 118th and Burleigh. It is a huge circle of cement about 2 inches thick and 2.5 feet across. I had to use a piece of scrap wood to roll it out of the back seat of the car and into my yard. Thankfully a strong young man at the store had helped get it into the car in the first place. It is super heavy! I plan to sink it to grass level in the lawn between the patio and the glider swing a few feet away. Maybe I’ll smash up some china and top it with a mosaic first. 🙂

4 responses to “A Day of Resale Shopping in Milwaukee

    • I thought something like that myself. I felt a bit conspicuous (this was very near the bathrooms in the back) so I didn’t do any more with it. I love all the messed up colors!

Leave a Reply

